Tags

, ,

Before getting back on the street to resume my morning walk, I looked around from my roof-top vantage point and noticed the different colors, shapes and sizes of the other roof tops as they gradually came into view in the broadening daylight in this city where time appeared to have stood still.

Image

A scene more commonly appearing on TV, showing shattered cities in the aftermath of a shelling or a bombing, this view, albeit peaceful, made me shudder just a bit.  There was not a soul in sight for as far as the eyes could see, except for those two crows who could now be seen perched on the railing of the roof top of an orange colored dwelling in the photo below.

Image

Fascination and curiosity compelled me to get a closer look at one of those dwellings, and what I saw took my breath away!  Peering into what looked like a backyard porch of a run-down dwelling from my vantage point above, I first thought the place was abandoned, but then noticed the white socks hanging on the clothesline.  Reminding me of scenes from the ‘Road Warrior’ movies, I wondered if this is how everything turns into after a nuclear holocaust…

Image

